History of Lake of the Woods Girls Minor Hockey

Lake of the Woods Girls Minor Hockey was established in 1993. The first organizational meeting was held at the Norman Community Club in July that year.

LOWGMH first Executive was Herm Phinney (President), Karl Coury (Vice President), Tim Murphy (Treasurer), Janet Rutherford (Secretary), Theresa Bowen (Registrar) and Larry Bowen (Ice Convener).

LOWGMH registered about 70 kids with one team in each division, Tykes, Novice, Atom, Peewee, Bantam, Midget and Juvenile.

LOWGMH was given only 2 hours of ice a week on a Friday at the Keewatin Memorial Arena. Lake of the Woods Minor Hockey and LOWGMH shared the ice on Thursdays at 4 pm for our Tykes and the Mighty Mites. Lake of the Woods Minor Hockey helped LOWGH by playing each other as LOWGMH only had one team per division. Volunteers flooded the Norman rink and the girls played outside there every Wednesday night from 6 to 10pm. Once the numbers in LOWGMH increased, they were granted more ice time.

In November of 1995, LOWGMH hosted their first Tournament at the Keewatin Memorial Arena and the Kenora Rec. Centre hosting approximately 26 teams from across Ontario. After this tournament, numbers started to rise and LOWGMH was growing. In 2017/18 LOWGMH celebrated their 25th year hosting their local tournaments.

In 2004, a Bursary Program was set up for players. To date, LOWGMH has had over 40 successful recipients. To date, LOWGMH has paid a total of $30,800 to these recipients.

RAMP Registration

Join thousands of association partners using RAMP Registration Solutions.

More Information

RAMP Official Assigning

#1 with Officials...for very good reasons.

More Information

RAMP Websites

Manage your identity from the palm of your hand to the top of your desk.

More Information

RAMP Team App

Keep your coaches, parents, athletes, and fans connected, seamlessly.

More Information